The Chianti area or Chianti Mountains is a small mountain range on the border between the provinces of Siena, Florence and Arezzo.
The origin of the name is not clear, but it seems to derive from the Etruscan word Clante. It was in the Etruscan period, in fact, that the deforestation of the area began, with the purpose of growing vines. Subsequently, the Romans continued this tradition; then in the medieval period the area was disputed between the Guelphs and Ghibellines, and during the dynasty of the Medici of Florence the Chianti enjoyed a period of peace and prosperity in which the cultivation of the vine was greatly improved. In the rolling hills of Chianti, at the foot of the small mountain range, there are still beautiful castles with characteristic towers, often the destination of turistic excursions: among them it’s worth mentioning the Brolio Castle (of the Ricasoli barons), Cacchiano, Meleto, Lucignano, Tornano, S.Giusto a Rentennano, Vertine, Spaltenna.
The municipalities in the hills area of ​​Chianti (Gaiole, Castellina, Radda, Greve, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Poggibonsi, Barberino Val d’Elsa, San Casciano Val di Pesa, Barberino Val di Pesa) are part of the production area of the prestigious Chianti Classico (DOCG).